Qualitative analysis software for
text, still images,
video, and audio data  
Developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Education Research  

Support ::
  Overview
  FAQ
  Documentation
  ScreenCasts
  Training

 

Training

Upcoming Training Webinars and Workshops

Date:
Details:

January 12, 14, 19, and 21, 2016

3 hour sessions each day:
7:00 am PST (Los Angeles)
9:00 am CST (Chicago)
10:00 am EST (Boston, New York)
3:00 pm GMT (London)
4:00 pm CET (Berlin, Rome)

Online Transana Training Workshop

Presented by David Woods, Transana's Developer

This online workshop will cover all aspects of doing qualitative analysis of text, still image, and media data using Transana. The workshop will be conducted by David Woods, Transana's lead developer.

This workshop is appropriate for beginning and intermediate Transana users. The cost of the workshop is US$ 280 per participant.

(This workshop is now full.)

For more information on this workshop, please see the Workshop description.

February 9, 2016
7:30 am PST (Los Angeles)
9:30 am CST (Chicago)
10:30 am EST (Boston, New York)
3:30 pm GMT (London)
4:30 pm CET (Berlin, Rome)

The Analysis of Text and Still Image Data with Transana Webinar

Presented by David Woods, Transana's Developer

This 1 hour Webinar introduces and demonstrates Transana's tools for analyzing text and still image data. This webinar is free, but slots are limited and registration is required.

(NOTE: The features presented in this Webinar are not available in the Standard version of Transana.)

February 10, 2016
7:30 am PST (Los Angeles)
9:30 am CST (Chicago)
10:30 am EST (Boston, New York)
3:30 pm GMT (London)
4:30 pm CET (Berlin, Rome)

The Analysis of Media Data with Transana Webinar

Presented by David Woods, Transana's Developer

This 1 hour Webinar introduces and demonstrates Transana's tools for analyzing media data. This webinar is free, but slots are limited and registration is required.

You can anticipate another pair of Webinars in early March.

March 11, 2016
10:00 am GMT (London)

1-day Audiovisual analysis using Transana

Presented by Christina Silver of the CAQDAS Networking Project, Surrey, England

For information, please see the CAQDAS Networking Projects web site.

Please contact David if you'd like to host a Transana Training Workshop, either privately or open to the public. If you would like to open your session to the broader Transana community, I will be happy to post information about it on this page, as well as sending an e-mail to the Transana mailing list.

Training Workshops by David Woods, Transana's Developer

The training workshops we conducts are highly interactive and provide ample opportunity for hands-on practice. It is therefore essential that each participant have a computer during the workshop. We will provide a training data set, although we also encourage participants to bring their own video or audio files to work on.

Training workshops typically run two days. In our experience, one day is not sufficient to cover all of Transana adequately, while two days allows for ample practice of all basic skills and an introduction to more advanced topics.

In a typical training session, we cover the following topics:

  • An Introduction to Transana
    • Components of Transana
    • The Transana Analytic Model

  • Bringing Data Into Transana
    • Starting Transana
    • Adding Text Data
    • Adding Media Data
      • Transcription an an Analytic Act

  • Analyzing Data I
    • Collections and Keywords
    • Creating Quotes
    • Creating Clips
    • Adding Still Image Data

  • Analyzing Data II
    • Text-based Reports
    • Graphical Reports
    • Transana's Filter Dialogs
    • Searches
    • Analytic Writing

  • Advanced Topics
    • Multiple Simultaneous Transcripts
    • Multiple Simultaneous Media Files
    • Multiple Simultaneous Users
    • Change Propatation

  • Collecting and preparing video data for use in Transana.

We generally assume that training participants are familiar with qualitative methodologies prior to the beginning of training. Familiarity with Transana is not required.

Is a one-day workshop possible?

I haven't offered a single-day workshop in many years. My feeling is that there is too much to learn, and it's of sufficient complexity that a single day would not really be adequate.

However, in the spirit of data-driven decision-making, I put the question of whether it could be done to the participants in a recent two-day workshop class.  One participant noted that a one-day workshop would be "more convenient," but the majority of the comments were not favorable:

"Perhaps it would not be a disaster" doesn't exactly instill me with confidence in the one-day option. 

If your group is accomplished in manipulating media files, putting data into Transana, and transcribing, I might consider a one-day "analysis-only" workshop for non-beginners. Otherwise, I consider the concept of a one-day Transana training workshop to be penny-wise but pound-foolish.

Official Transana Trainers

David Woods, Ph.D.
David is Transana's Lead Developer. He is a Researcher at the Wisconsin Center for Education Research, at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, in the USA. He's provided Transana workshops all over the world ranging from two to five days in length.

Paul Dempster, Ph.D.
Paul Dempster is currently emplyed by the NHS in Newcastle in the UK. He has conducted Transana Training Workshops with international audiences, and provides methological consultation regarding new features for Transana.

Christina Silver, Ph.D.
Christina manages the CAQDAS Networking Project and has been working with Transana for many years. The project runs scheduled Transana workshops during the year, in Guildford UK, or contact Christina to arrange a bespoke onsite workshop.

Zeynab Badreddine, Ph.D.
Zeynab is an Associated Researcher in Science Education to ICAR Laboratory http://icar.univ-lyon2.fr. She is also a Research Engineer: consulting, training and innovation about complex corpora in the domain Social and Human Sciences. Zeynab is now the official trainer of Transana for both French and Arabic communities.